10 C
New York
Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Russia has new enemies. Slovakia has also been added to the list.

Must read

Greece, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia and Croatia have become new members of the “unfriendly countries” club against Russia, whose list is held by Moscow. According to the TASS agency, this was announced by the Russian government.

“The government has updated the list of states that have taken hostile actions against Russia’s diplomatic and consular missions abroad,” the statement said. At the same time, Moscow points out that the list is not final.

Being on the list restricts or completely prohibits countries from employing Russian personnel to work in their embassies, consulates and other representations. For example, Slovakia can now employ only 16 people in Russia, while Slovenia and Croatia can’t hire anyone.

In the past, Russia also stated that it would only pay its obligations to the countries on the list in rubles.

Russia took the lead in the list, which included only the Czech Republic and the United States in May of last year. Shortly before that, Prague accused Russian agents of participating in the explosion at the ammunition depot in Vrbětice, which triggered a diplomatic war between the two states.

Moscow expanded the list this March by adding European Union countries without naming them, for example Great Britain, Canada, Albania, Switzerland, New Zealand or San Marino. At the time, the addition of Taiwan sparked ridicule that Moscow had mistakenly recognized its independence.

war in ukraine

Photo: Roman_studio, Shutterstock.com


In the newsletter we summarize the most important events in Ukraine every weekday point. Sign up for subscription.

Source: Seznam Zpravy

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article